Dec 05, 2021 | ADMIN



Boca Raton, Fla. (December 5, 2021) – Western Kentucky University will face off against Appalachian State University in the 8th Annual Boca Raton Bowl as announced by bowl officials today. The 2021 game at FAU Stadium will kick off at 11 a.m. ET on Saturday, Dec. 18 and will be televised nationally on ESPN and broadcast on ESPN Radio, including ESPN 106.3 locally.

Western Kentucky, 8-5 overall and 7-2 in Conference USA play, and Appalachian State, 10-3 overall and 7-1 in Sun Belt Conference games, will play for the Howard Schnellenberger Championship Trophy, awarded to the champion of the Boca Raton Bowl. Both schools were champions of their conference divisions but lost in their respective conference title games to teams playing at home.

“We will have an opportunity to see history made in our game this year,” said Boca Raton Bowl executive director Doug Mosley. “Western Kentucky comes into this game with the nation’s top passing quarterback in Bailey Zappe and he will be looking to set new NCAA single-season passing records in this game. On the other hand, Appalachian State has one of the best pass defenses in the nation. This matchup is going to amazing to watch unfold.”

Western Kentucky and Appalachian State have not previously met. Further, Appalachian State has not lost in its previous six bowl appearances. Western Kentucky played in the 2016 Boca Raton Bowl, defeating the University of Memphis, 51-31.

Tickets to the 2021 Boca Raton Bowl can be purchased by visiting or by calling 561-362-3650 and asking for Boca Raton Bowl tickets. For travel information on the Boca Raton Bowl, click on the Fanzone tab at

For more information about the Boca Raton Bowl visit or follow on social media via Facebook (, Twitter (@BocaBowl), and Instagram (@BocaBowl).


The Boca Raton Bowl is one of 17 bowl games owned and operated by ESPN Events, a division of ESPN. The Boca Raton Bowl debuted in 2014 and has been well received in the community through its first seven years. It has twice held the distinction of matching up two conference champions – Marshall University vs. Northern Illinois University (2014), and UAB vs. Northern Illinois (2018). In all, six conference champions and another three conference division champions have played in the game. Among the bowl’s alumni who have moved on to the NFL are current New York Jets quarterback Zach Wilson (BYU, 2020), Buffalo Bills running back Devin Singletary (FAU, 2017) and Philadelphia Eagles kicker Jake Elliott (Memphis, 2016). For more information about the Boca Raton Bowl visit or follow through social media on Facebook (, Twitter (@BocaBowl), and Instagram (@BocaBowl).



ESPN Events, a division of ESPN, owns and operates a portfolio of 35 collegiate sporting events nationwide. The roster includes five early-season college football games, 17 college bowl games, 12 college basketball events, and a college softball event, which accounts for approximately 400 hours of live programming, reaches nearly 64 million viewers, and attracts over 800,000 attendees each year. With satellite offices in more than 10 markets across the country, ESPN Events builds relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as providing unique experiences for teams and fans.

For more information, visit the official websiteFacebookTwitter or YouTube pages.




Plan your Trip

Don’t miss your chance at experiencing this beach bash! Get your tickets and book your hotel today.